Locket

I will hold your head in my hands

Hoping your thoughts will be safe in my palms

Picked up from the heat of your brow

I will carry them carefully

Cup my fingers

Protective of precious contents

A treasure chest of interlocked thumbs

I will not let your thoughts spill

I will not drop them

I will hold them awhile

In a hand held outstretched

No clenching, no flexing of fists

Fit your mind to my fingertips

Your hands make me strong

Under touch make me solid

Let mine be helpers

Let me lighten your load 

Pass me your weighted worries

I will not let go

Leave a Reply

