Choking

Foreheads pressed to pavements

Nose to the grindstone

Barricades and broken homes

Another mother is crying at the curb

Cut the cord and bite the hand that feeds

I CAN’T BREATHE

Wombs spilling umbilical nooses

Same old story

Same lines drawn in the sand

Drawing swords and blood

Stay within the lines

I CAN’T BREATHE

Behind the rope or behind bars

Show your hand

Hold them high

Salute the white flag

Raised like a fist

I CAN’T BREATHE

Take off those hoods

The war on terror ran away from home

To fight dragons under others’ beds

But there be monsters

Don’t look under the sheets

I CAN’T BREATHE

On your knees

Palm to palm, no evil seen

Maybe this was all a dream

Love of country and of King

Declare freedom and free money

One nation under God

Stand up and be counted

Get your head in the game

And may the best team win

The starting block is sinking

Concrete ankle bracelets

And crowns of thorns

Fit to kill a King

And set fires in Queens

I CAN’T BREATHE

White houses

White picket fences

White wash

I think I was dreaming

But I’m awake now.

I can’t breathe.

Leave a Reply

