distant

we have come detached
grown
very detached

from one another

 

there was a time we were close

closer

than this

 

there was a time we talked
of where we were
where we were going
where we wanted to end
up

silly things

like life
and death
and how our parents would dance
on a fantastic wedding day
how past lovers grew
pale

 

early hours nonsense

 

whispers through devices
these devices
everyone seems to have
nowadays

 

i slept with my phone

under my ear

for over a year
two, in fact
or something a little
over
that

 

all this has been done
before
there is nothing
new
there is nothing
unusual
there is nothing

 

but sometimes I fall
when almost asleep

a glitch

sometimes I wake
and don’t know
which room
I am alone
in

sometimes I think
of how my forehead
pressed
between your shoulder blades

bare faced cheek
of it all

 

this is all
very
self indulgent

 

this has all
happened
before

 

but
silly things
we talked
like life
like we
like all that
happened
elsewhere

not

in
here

how very
self indulgent
we were

for a while

 

my ears are ringing

One Reply to “distant”

Leave a Reply

