hooked

by eloisehendy

as the last
tanin tang
hits the tip
of the tongue
i see your face

on the day
you hung
damp clothes
from the hooks
of my kitchen

that day
the wine stung my taste
buds
the fizz
of you
touched

a part of me i
thought
i had lost
a very long time
previous

sodden clothes on all sides
suddenly crowding the space
i hadn’t even yet made
a home

in the morning
we sat
backs to thin
walls
thoughts
slender

i remember
the tone
of your friend’s voice
when,
he said,
in a somewhat shocked,
but not so shocked,
in retrospect,
tone,
that,
we
looked,

like a couple

pressed
against the pillows
pressed
against
each other

i laughed

as the tang subsides
and your face recedes
i conjure
the years
between
hung cloth
pressed pillow
and tear stained
sheets

your face
still swims
a steady stroke
lapping
my mind like
an olympian
or
lapping
my mind like
a cat
who can’t quite
get
the cream

